It is time for your close up Mr Spider

So today was my first day of testing my newly cleaned and serviced lens. Nature offered me a sunny morning to clean up pool equipment that I had long long long left out in the garden that should have been put away.

So I set about doing that when I spotted a spider settled in for the winter inside a tube that is part of the pool. First thing I thought… Macro time!

 

D5100 + Vivitar Series 1 70 – 210 mm @70 mm f/8 iso: 400 1/50s

This guy didn’t really like the sunlight and kept turning around every time I put the tube in an orientation towards the sun. I think it is just a Common house spider, though I am no expert, it had two black lines down its abdomen, not in a speckle pattern but more like two fuzzy lines.

 

I think this is quite a successful test that I haven’t degraded the optics of the lens in regard to sharpness, some moderate blue/green fringing visible here, though I am not too surprised given the shot.

I was able to take a few photographs of birds as I once again visited the Little Cataraqui Creek conservation area, unfortunately shooting was a challenge due to early sunset and most of the photographs being shot in the shade. More to follow.

One thought on “It is time for your close up Mr Spider

Leave a Reply

