Pentax 67 and a Gossen Sixtino

After using a TTL Prism with my Pentax 67, It semi-breaking (automatic mode essentially shut down) and less than… bright results, I picked up an used Gossen Sixtino for the grand total of… $5 at a local camera store. (Local here being 40 mins drive away, because Canada)

It is a simple, easy to use incident and reflected light meter that doesn’t require any batteries. After testing it out against my digital camera for f-stop and exposure  I came to an early conclusion that, it worked OK but had a few issues depending on use. I figured this would be the same as any meter right? Bright scene, light meter pointed at the wrong spot and hey presto you get the wrong result.

So how do you use it? Simple, You point it around the scene, and you look at the white needle. You set for film speed by rotating the inner plastic part, here it is set at 400. Next you rotate the outer plastic ring to line up the yellow tick on the white needle. Then you simply say “Hmmmm which exposure/f-stop do i want” and read off the corresponding settings. Easy!

How best to figure this out other than to test. I set out to take a roll of film, doing one stop under, middle, one stop over. Now this is actually fairly narrow given that film should have a dynamic range of anything up to about 14 stops. Still I went ahead and saw exactly what you might expect. The darkest and lightest shots where distinguishable, but only just. Given I tested a 3 stop range, this should have been totally expected.

 

SAMSUNG

 

My beaten up dirty Sixtino and a Pen

 

What does this tell me? Well it is still very useful, it tells me that I can reliably get exposures of scenes, and the viewing angle of the Sixtino given that it uses LED like lenses should be around 15 degrees, so with some practice it can work very well. It tells me that my shots that looked massively underexposed mean that the light meters I had used need some serious tuneup and recalibration, and that cross referenced between my Digital and the Pentax 67 i need to be very careful about comparing the two lenses.

 

If you need a light meter and can pick up one of these, Id say give it a go, I got mine super cheap (it is rough) but for a light meter under $30 compared to $300+ its worth a gamble I say.

 

Here is a test shot of some rocks, not exactly an interesting scene, the other scenes of a fill test were quick and nasty scans and as i said, the difference between them so small it seemed pointless to show. Regardless, lots of light! and no odd blue cold hue to everything that under exposed film can exhibit.

Scan-140405-0004

 

Leave a Reply

