D610 and a 30-40 year old Macro – Sharp – Sharp

Over the christmas break I finally purchased a replacement DSLR for my broken D5100, outside of warranty, with a repair that would not be covered by warranty for the same price as a 2nd hand D5100 I finally made the jump to full frame with a D610.

So far I have not been able to get out and take too many pictures due to bad lighting conditions and extremely cold temperatures. Now that I have a few shots, I can really see how the camera and some old glass perform, and I have to say… damn impressively.

Here is a shot I took in afternoon light with a late 70s early 80s era Macro-Nikkor 105mm f/4 – this is Iso 640, 1/250s f/5.6

DSC_0155

A little dull yes, though the scene can be made brighter, though without playing around and using light curves (which for this i didn’t really want to do) you loose that lovely red scattering behind the clouds. Could bring it up and make it look nicer without loosing much. NOW the point is when i looked at this photograph my initial thought was, hmmmm those lamp posts  look fairly sharp, I wonder what 1:1 look like.

So I took a crop, got rid of the geese (sorry fellas, not needed for this scene) and mainly focused around the water, taking id estimate about 40% of the scene.

DSC_0155-1This image uploaded is actually not scaled down, so click it and go 1:1, I was astounded by the sharpness of this lens, despite being mostly open, I think the sweet spot for it is actually between f/5.6 and f/8 but even so. Now I guess I should not be at all surprised, It is a macro after all. That said, I guess I was not expecting it to out-resolve 24MP. How wrong I was. I think I need to do a repeat of my spider chasing adventures.

Leave a Reply

