Paper Wasp

I took a walk with couple of friends on Sunday, (see https://500px.com/giampapietro). Earlier that day I had failed taking a picture of a jumping spider around the house, and left the 36mm extension tube on my 105 macro. Out on the walk, rather than remove it, I just rolled with it, and kept my eyes open for any bugs or insects to take pictures of in the brilliantly bright sun.

Fortunately, I spotted a Wasp, sat on a leaf. 8 Shots later and I stepped away, hoping to have at least one or two of those sharp enough to use.

After some searching, I believe it is a paper wasp rather than a yellow-jacket, which would make it less likely to resent your presence, that said, it did turn to face me on the leaf while munching on what looked like a chunk of apple. Something that I’ve only really observed jumping spiders to do. Obviously, being a wasp it was probably not pleased I was sticking a lens in its face.DSC_9784Nikon D610 + 105mm with 36mm extension, 1/250s, f/8, iso 400

The 105mm has a 0.5x magnification ratio, with the extension tube that brings it up to about 0.84x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.